BITS Pilani

  • Page last updated on Tuesday, May 10, 2022

Department of Physics

Physics@BITS Goa
show more

About Us

The Physics department of BITS Pilani, K K Birla Goa campus, established in 2004, is committed to fulfil the vision of the Institute, to "enrich, transform and inspire young minds". We are currently twenty faculty members with rich backgrounds, committed to the highest standards of excellence in teaching and research.
We offer a four year Integrated Masters programme in Physics with input through BITSAT, a Minor programme in Physics for undergraduates majoring in other disciplines and a Doctoral programme. Our curriculum is vetted against the highest standards, and undergoes regular revisions and upgradation. Our courses encourage active participation and are geared towards the world of cutting edge science research.
show more


Twenty faculty members, about  thirty five research scholars  and research scientists, we are also ably assisted by five staff members.
show more


Our Research spans experimental and theoretical  aspects of Astrophysics and Cosmology, High energy Physics, Nuclear Physics, Condensed Matter physics, Non-linear dynamics and complex systems, Optics and Spectroscopy and Quantum Physics. 
We are also delving into  interdisciplinary research including soft condensed matter, information thermodynamics, neuroscience and quantum information.
show more


Programmes and Courses: whether it is the undergraduate foundational courses for engineering students, Masters programme in Physics or the PhD programme, we are committed to the highest standards in pedagogy and curriculum design.


We are currently recruiting in the areas of Quantum Materials, Quantum Optics and Quantum Information and Computation.

Talks this month

 PhD Thesis Defense


MsAnu Roshini R,

Affiliation: BITS - Pilani, Goa campus

Physical and Chemical Engineering of Transition Metal Dichalcogenides and Metal Oxide Nanostructures to Enhance their Electrical and Optical Characteristics

Date: 13th May 2022 (Friday)  
Time:  11:00 am.
Venue: Department Conference Room 

Department Seminar

Speaker: Mr. Aditya Sharma
Affiliation: BITS - Pilani, Goa campus
Studies on Galilean field theories
Date: 7th May 2022 (Saturday)  
Time:  10:00-10.50 am.
Venue: Department Conference Room (Hybrid mode)   Google Meet Link

Contact Us

Head, Department of Physics 
Office: D320/4
BITS-Pilani, K K Birla Goa Campus
NH-17B, Zuarinagar, Goa-403726, INDIA
Tel:  + 91 (832) 2580 871
email: hod.physics@goa.bits-pilani.ac.in 
Reshma T Dalvi
 Physics Office,  D322,
Tel: +91 (832) 2580 870 
email: phy.office@goa.bits-pilani.ac.in 

Quick Links

    An Institution Deemed to be University estd. vide Sec.3 of the UGC Act,1956 under notification # F.12-23/63.U-2 of Jun 18,1964

    © 2022 Centre for Software Development,SDET Unit, BITS-Pilani, India.

    Designed and developed by fractal | ink design studios