

MINUTES FOR THE MEETING OF THE INSTITUTE BIOSAFETY COMMITTEE (IBSC), BITS, PILANI – K K BIRLA GOA CAMPUS

Meeting held on 09/012/2016 (Friday), 1000-1130 hrs. at the L202, BITS.

Attendance:

Members Present			Members absent
Prof. A. Srinivasan *	Prof. Urmila Barros	Dr. Utpal Roy	Dr. Samir Damare
(for the Chairperson)	(DBT nominee)	(Internal Expert)	(External Expert)
Prof. Sunil Bhand	Dr. Sumit Biswas	Dr. Judith Braganca	Dr. Raghavendra KM
(Member Secretary)	(Internal Expert)	(Internal Expert)	(Biosafety Officer)

Member absent: *Prof. A. Srinivasan, Deputy Director, BITS, Pilani – KK Birla Goa Campus, chaired the meeting, in the absence of the Director, as the Director's nominee.

1. The meeting was chaired by the Deputy Director of the Campus, Prof. Ashwin Srinivasan.

2. The minutes of the last minute were read by Dr. Sumit Biswas, and the following action was taken: a. A webpage for the IBSC has been created in the Institute website, b. The amended guidelines for the IBSC has been uploaded on the webpage, c. A remodeled and exhaustive questionnaire was submitted by Dr. Utpal Roy, which was submitted to the members, d. A team of Dr. Utpal Roy and Dr. Sumit Biswas visited BSL facilities in Pune (IISER, NCCS, NIV) to have a first-hand idea of the same.

3. The committee was informed of the communication from RCGM regarding the declaration of BSL2 plus facilities, and the response to that communication.

4. Prof. Bhand raised the issue of shortening of deadlines of project calls, and a discussion ensued regarding the feasibility of the 30-day deadline for point 3 of the IBSC guidelines. It was decided, after thorough consideration, that a provision be made for emergency deliberation on such proposals via e-mail, in case, the committee can't meet physically within short notice.

5. The self-declaration questionnaire was deliberated upon in detail, and Dr. Roy was requested to tailor-make the same for BITS.

6. A training workshop for empowering research personnel with biosafety guidelines and techniques was mooted, and subsequent steps would be taken to that effect.

7. The next meeting of the committee was tentatively scheduled in May, 2017.

Signed by,

Prof. A.Srinivasan	Prof. U. Barros	Prof. S. Bhand
Dr. Samir Damare	Dr. U.Roy	Dr. J. Braganca
Dr. S. Biswas	Dr. Raghavendra K.M.	