

## MINUTES FOR THE MEETING OF THE INSTITUTE BIOSAFETY COMMITTEE (IBSC), BITS, PILANI – K K BIRLA GOA CAMPUS

Meeting held on 16/03/2016 (Wednesday), 1440-1520 hrs. at the Conference Room, BITS.

## Attendance:

Members Present			
Prof. S. Punnekkat	Dr. Samir Damare	Dr. Utpal Roy	
(Chairperson and	(External Expert)	(Internal Expert)	
Director)			
Prof. Sunil Bhand	Dr. Sumit Biswas	Dr. Judith Braganca	
(Member Secretary)	(Internal Expert)	(Internal Expert)	

**Member absent:** Prof. Urmila Barros, DBT nominee who had given prior intimation of her non-availability; Dr. Raghavendra K.M., due to urgent work.

- **1.** The meeting was chaired by the Director of the Campus, Prof. Sasikumar Punnekkat (the Chairperson).
- **2.** The chairperson read out the approved minutes of the last meeting and set out the agenda which was the presentation of the rules and regulations for the IBSC, questionnaire for biosafety declaration, response to RCGB yearly note, and finalization of procedure to approve projects through IBSC.
- **3.** Dr. Braganca and Dr. Roy formally presented a draft questionnaire, to which the chairman suggested that it be made online, and sections such as short abstract, etc. be added. Some other simplifications and modifications were also suggested by the members.
- **4.** Dr. Biswas and Prof. Bhand presented the draft guidelines, which were accepted with minor changes, and asked to be made available in the online portal.
- **5.** Subsequently, it was suggested the manner and design of the process be cross-checked with the other two campuses as well.
- **6.** It was also decided that a question be inserted in the current SRCD questionnaire which accompanies any project proposal, regarding the need for the proposal to be evaluated by the IBSC.

7. The proposal for a Biosafety facil was suggested that some members reputed institutes.		
8. The next meeting of the committee	e was tentatively scheduled in	September, 2016.
Signed by,		
Prof. S. Punnekkat	Prof. U. Barros	Prof. S. Bhand
Dr. Samir Damare	Dr. U.Roy	Dr. J. Braganca

Dr. Raghavendra K.M.

Dr. S. Biswas