International Conference on Functional Nanomaterials and their Applications in Sustainability, Environment, Energy, and Biotechnology ICFNA-2024


BITS Pilani, KK Birla Goa Campus

 (9th- 11 November 2024)

Organized by

Birla Institute of Technology and Science Pilani, K K Birla Goa Campus, India





Jointly with

Dhempe College of Arts & Science, Goa India



The aim of the workshop is to provide a forum for discussing the recent advances in new smart/ intelligent materials and their applications in nanotechnology and exchange of knowledge. The workshop will also provide an opportunity to strengthen existing network of education and research among participating Institutions.


This workshop will cover a wide range of interdisciplinary and current research topics related to advanced  nano materials and their applications. These new materials include MXenes, , carbon nanotubes, graphene, gC3N4, nanocomposites etc. Specific topics to be discussed will include but not limited to:

  • New Smart/Intelligent Nanostructured Materials: Novel synthesis routes and characterizations
  • Sustainable Energy storage and conversion: Nanomaterials for Electrodes for High-performance Energy storage devices (Battery, Superpacaitor), wearable electronics, Electrocatalysts and photoelectrocatalysis for H2 and O2 production, electrochemical reactions, semiconductor technology.
  • Environment: Environmental remediation, advanced catalysts for water treatment, identification of pollutants and contaminants by nanosensors Chemosensors, biosensors, Radioanalytical techniques, etc.

Nanobiotechnology: Nanomedicine, Nano drug delivery, Nanotoxicology, Nanotherapeutics ,Environmental nanobiotechnology

Important Dates and Activities

Abstract submission deadline:  16th August 2024

Acceptance of abstract: 1st September 2024

One page Abstract must be submitted through email

Please specify Oral or Poster presentation during abstract submission.

Registration & payment


(Before 15th September 2024)


National academic participants (7500 INR)

National student participants (3500 INR)

National industrial participants (15000 INR)

International academic participants (250 USD$)

International industrial participants (500 USD$)

International students + postdoct  participants (150 USD$)


Bank details for sending  registration fee and sponsorship: (via net banking or google pay)


Name : BITS Pilani KK Birla Goa Campus

Address : Plot No : 189/P-2 , NH 17 B , By-Pass Road

                   Zuarinagar Goa - 403726

Bank: State Bank of India

Branch : Shop No 12, N H 17B,   Zuarinagar Goa  403726

Branch Code: 010720

Account No: 30803684122

Account Type:  Current A/c

IFS Code :   SBIN0010720

MICR Code: 403002055



Important note: After transferring money send an email ( attaching the transaction details with your name, affiliation, abstract number and contact details (mobile number)


Will be updated soon


Will be updated soon


Will be updated soon


Will be updated soon

Abstract Book

Will be updated soon


Chief Patrons

Prof. V. Ramgopal Rao (VC, BITS Pilani)

Mr. Shrinivas V Dempo (Chairman of Dempo Group of Companies)


Prof. Suman Kundu (Director, BITS Pilani, K K Birla Goa Campus)


Prof. N N Ghosh (BITS Pilani, K K Birla Goa Campus)

Prof. Vrinda Borkar (Principal, Dhempe College of Arts and  Science)


International Advisory Committee

Prof G F Fernando (University of Birmingham, UK)

Prof. C E Barnes (Univ. of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA)

Prof. Takahiro Maruyama (Meijo University, Japan)

Prof  Paul A Millner (Univ of Leeds, UK)


National Advisory Committee

Prof. R Tewari (BARC)

Prof. Raghunath Acharya (BARC)

Prof. PA Hassan (BARC)

Prof. C R Bhatterjee (Assam University)

Dr. K Parida (IMMT, Bhubaneswar)

Dr. D Srinivas (NCL, Pune)

Prof K S Rane

Dr. C.V. Yelamaggad, Scientist F, Centre for Nano and Soft Matter Sciences (CeNS) , Bengaluru.

Prof Benjamin Lionel (BITS Pilani)

Dr Darbha Srinivas (NCL, Pune)

Dr Anil Wali CEO, (BITS BioCyTiH Foundation)

Local Organizing committee:

Joint Organizing Secretary: Prof Mainak Bannerjee, Prof Amrita Chatterjee and Dr Bhanudas Naik (Dempe College)

Joint treasurer: Dr. K P Jayadevan & HoD Chemistry dept of Dempe College

Head local organizing committee: Prof Halan Prakash (ex-officio member HoD)

Scientific: Prof NN Ghosh, Prof Mainak Bannerjee, Prof Anjan Chattopadhyay, Prof R N Behera, Dr. Subhasish Roy

Reception: Prof Sunil Bhand, Prof Ranjan Dey, Dr. Saurav Bhattacharya, Dr Sudipta Chatterjee, Dr. Subhasish Roy, Prof Halan Prakash

Venue Management:  Prof Amrita Chatterjee, Dr. Uttara Basu, Dr. Sandip Kumar Nandi, Dr. Woormileela Sinha, (Poster) Dr. Kiran Vankayala, Prof P Bhavana, Prof Rashmi Chauhan

Food: Prof Ranjan Dey

Travel: Dr. Saurav Bhattacharya, Dr Sudipta Chatterjee

Registration desk: Prof Tincy Thomas,  Dr. K P Jayadevan, Dr. Subhasish Roy, Dr Bhanudas Naik

Registration kit: Dr. Subhasish Roy, Prof NN Ghosh, Prof  Subhadeep Bannerjee